Home > Family > Stop already.

Stop already.

Stop calling me.
I already voted.
Stop asking for money, I already gave.
Yes, I know this is an important election but if you don’t stop sending me 50+ emails a day or 20+ robocalls/texts I swear I will vote for the other guy.

I know I’m not the only one who feels this way. Can we have some semblance of normalcy, please? Can we put a cap on the amount of money that’s allowed to be spent by candidates and Super PACs? It seems that the $2Billion+ dollars spent could be put to better use than trying to elect one of two candidates that, at least for me, are lukewarm choices at best.

Can we strip all party designations so people don’t know what party they’re voting for? It seems to me that most people on either side of the ideological spectrum vote for the party rather than the candidate. Imagine an election where the candidates are chosen BY THEIR PLATFORM rather than by what “team” they belong to. I am so tired of football politics where it’s us vs. them. It should be which candidate most closely follows your beliefs and priorities. 

We have become so entrenched in this mindset that we cannot do anything close to resembling a proper civil discourse. It’s all insults and party-produced talking points. I’m sick of it.

I long for the days of relative civility, the time of Tip O’Neill, Gerald Ford, Nelson Rockefeller, Paul Simon, and even Bill Proxmire and his Golden Fleece award. I may not have agreed with some of them, but at least we didn’t have robocalls and the internet back then….

Vote for the Whig Party candidate!

Ideology and Congress: A historical perspective

Categories: Family Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. scott
    November 7, 2012 at 7:00 am

    Hi Ody. Hope all is well, this is a few days late, but better late than never. http://www.d20monkey.com/2012/11/06/the-eye-has-it/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment