Home > Family, Medicine > On Injured Reserve

On Injured Reserve

February 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Heck of a lot of snow

You know that sinking feeling when you’re about to fall and there ain’t no way you’re gonna stop it? It’s as if your life slows down and you can see what’s coming but you can’t do a damn thing about it. Well, last Friday, I experienced the feeling. I was meeting my wife for coffee at the local coffee shop at 8:30 am. She was on call the previous evening so we always try to make time for a mini-date whenever we can.

I found my favorite spot (broken parking meter eliminates the need to put coins -SCORE!) and started up the sidewalk. We’ve had a boatload of snow here (check out the picture of my son on the snow mountain – the fence is 6 ft high for perspective) and so we have patches of ice buried under the snow.

As I was walking up the sidewalk, I saw a snow covered patch of ice so I started to navigate around it. Unbeknownst to me, I was already standing on a snow covered patch of ice. That was the point at which the space-time continuum began to cause a transformation in which slowed time down. Me: OOOOOOOOHHHHHH NNNNN

Nothing like spending Friday night in the ER

NNNOOOOOOO! Ice Ice, Baby: MWUHAHAHAHAHA!

I landed on all fours (thankfully not my back) and my heavily gloved hands were protected from the concrete sidewalk and my right knee landed in the snow. My left knee, however, hit the concrete. Hard. Being a male and being an idiot (redundant?), I tried to brush it off. It wasn’t so bad at first but as the day progressed, it got worse. When Suzanne got home from work, I was making whimpering noises and she was not about to listen to me act like a baby so she took me to the ER at Froedtert Hospital. What a romantic way to spend a Friday night.

Thankfully, it was quiet and the ER doc that attended to me was a good friend (Dr. Jonathan Rubin <- he rocks!) so it wasn’t too bad. we were in and out in about 2 1/2 hours. I’ve heard of people who’ve bee in the waiting area for that long on busy nights! End result? A bad bruise and possible torn meniscus but no broken bones or ligament tears. I went and saw a Sports Medicine doc (another good friend, Dr. Craig Young) who concurred with Jon’s assessment. Rest and ibuprofen was the prescription. The moral of the story? It’s easier to walk on snow than on ice. Like I said, I’m an idiot.

Categories: Family, Medicine
  1. February 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    OUCH! I went ice skating once and hit my knee on ice on one of the several times I fell down. MAN, it hurts! My knee swelled up like a baseball. HOPE you recover quickly and painlessly, my friend!1

    • Ody
      February 27, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      It does hurt. But it’s much better now. Miss you!

  2. March 18, 2011 at 9:29 am

    Oh no….I hope you’re feeling better now

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

