Home > Family > On the other side of the storm

On the other side of the storm

Hurray for me! The re-opening went well, and the major issues (save for one) have been ironed out. We are now at the point where, in construction parlance, we’re working on the punch list. Those necessary but annoying minute items (like printers – who needs printers? – Physicians SO demanding) that are simple to remedy but take time to complete in toto.

Ahh, so as the calm takes over, I have a bit more time to write and tweet. I wanted to blog about how much things have changed since I was a child.

Professing my love for PuffI was talking to my soon-to-be 7 year old son, who asked me about an LP (Peter, Paul and Mary in Concert) that we’ve had since about 1965. I had written a little note in it next to “Puff the Magic Dragon” – “I like this.” I must have been 7 or 8 when I wrote it. This was right after I was with my family shopping for school shoes and we got Zachary’s first non-velcro sneakers. Which again got me to thinking of my youth. So here is a list of what I remember and sometimes miss from the 1960’s and 70’s.

  1. I remember having 6 digits for a phone number (70-56-70 – amazed I can still remember it)
  2. It was a party line and a rotary phone
  3. I remember those annoying drills we had to do in penmanship
  4. I remember our first air conditioner
  5. I remember reel-to-reel tapes – loved how you had to thread them through the tape head
  6. I remember 8-tracks (remember how a song was cut in two and it would fade out then back in?)
  7. I still write in cursive – do kids do that anymore?
  8. Remember intermissions in movies?
  9. I think for its day, 2001, A Space Odyssey had incredible special effects
  10. What about S&H Green Stamps, whatever happened to them?
  11. For that matter, why don’t we get a toaster when we open up a bank account?
  12. And, along those lines, why can’t the kids get a passbook like we all used to?
  13. I remember our cars had no seat belts…
  14. ..and we had three on the tree (if you don’t get it, you’re not old enough).
  15. I remember people cleaning our windshields as they pumped our gas.
  16. I remember watching, along with 1 billion others, Neil Armstrong step foot on the moon.

There’s more but I wanted to put in writing the things that came to mind so that I can reminisce about the past as I look excitedly forward to the future.

Categories: Family
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

