Home > Medicine, Other, Tech > The joys of technology

The joys of technology

Why is it that if you are in IT, people assume you manage or can fix anything that has a keypad, keyboard or digital display, including, but not limited to, copiers, fax machines, watches, TV sets, remote controls AND of course GPS devices. People, I’m only going to say this once. I went to grad school for I-N-F-O-R-M-A-T-I-O-N S-Y-S-T-E-M-S and NOT for setting up home theaters or fixing your universal remote.

GE V-ScanHaving said that, I DID get to play with a pretty cool device. We recently invested in a V-Scan, the GE portable ultrasound device. It’s nice. I didn’t have the foggiest idea what I was doing, but nevertheless, there I was, in the office, with one of the docs, trying to get an U/S of his kidney stones. Suffice it to say, they didn’t teach me that in grad school.

We had a scan of a heart beating but I accidentally deleted the entire visit rather than a specific scan so we have to try again tomorrow afternoon. Hopefully we can get an U/S tech to help us out. If not, we’ll grab one of the docs who does OB and pray that they can find the kidneys (want to show kidney stones).

I tried scanning my head but all I accomplished was getting ultrasound gel in my hair.

The V-scan has a cool iPod style wheel and a 4GB SD card for memory, which can be replaced with a higher capacity card. I wonder if it’ll play music, too.

When and if I can get the scans downloaded, I’ll post them on here. As of right now though, it’s yet another device that has a screen and controls and is “technology” that I’m expected to be able to use out of the box.

Categories: Medicine, Other, Tech
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

