Home > Travel > Off for two weeks

Off for two weeks

Tomorrow we head off to Spain. We leave Chicago at 2:30, get to Dallas at 5 and have 40 minutes to lug all our stuff through DFW and get on the flight to Madrid. God, I hope we make it.

We haven’t been to Madrid in over 7 years, which is a shame because my parents own a condo there so staying there is pretty cheap. Zachary was the result of our last trip there, let’s hope that we don’t have a duplicate outcome this trip.

My suitcase for MadridOne of the advantages of going to a place where you have ready place to stay is the elimination of the need to pack for the entire trip. We pack enough for 5 days and just do laundry there. Makes for much easier packing. Here’s what I’m bringing for two weeks. A carry on.

Still, even when I don’t have a “home base” with a relative or friend, I tend to pack light. When I spent three weeks in Germany, Kenya and Uganda, I brought 2 (!) carry-ons. Just turn your underwear inside out and you get twice the use out of them 🙂 (my wife wants you all to be aware this was before she met me).

As a result, even though I will have a netbook with me, I will not be tweeting and blogging as often as I would normally. Hope to see you all on the interwebz when I return.

Categories: Travel
  1. Ryan
    March 13, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I don’t understand people that can’t, or won’t, pack light. I’m the vainest, girliest girl I know, and still I can manage anywhere with a small suitcase and a backpack.

    Why would you want to lug all that crap around with you? Particularly on what is supposed to be a vacation?

  2. Jim
    March 14, 2010 at 2:24 am

    Have a safe flight!
    Give me a call if you are bored. Just dial +49-711-my number.
    Check out my pix of the Ultimate Phil Collins show. Last night I saw it again in Mannheim. The guy is a great entertainer.
    How was the Musical Box?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

