Home > Humor, Mac, Other, Tech > iSlate iFuror iHypeoverload iPad???

iSlate iFuror iHypeoverload iPad???

So I’m buying an iSlate iPad (ugh) today if I can get my hands on one (not available for 60 days at the earliest). One of the nice things about my job is that I can test out new toys. Since there is potentially a legitimate business reason for buying one, I have received approval for the purchase from my awesome Chairman, Dr. Alan David. I am waiting in a Barnes and Noble two stores down from the Apple store. When I asked if there was product to be put out later today, they said “No Comment.” Hmm.

From the McGraw Hill accidental slip yesterday, it sounds like the screen is large enough to accommodate textbooks. This would be a boon to those med students that have to spend $500-$1000 on textbooks. E-Book pricing would certainly bring that total down and would also alleviate countless back issues from lugging 50 lbs of books around. This has been a shortcoming of the current generation of e-Book readers.

On another note, some purported iSlate iTampon production pics were posted on gizmodo.com. They aren’t sure of the veracity of the photos (they’re originally from Taiwan where the iSlate iPad now with wings! may be manufactured) but here they are anyway. More to come later…

Update #1: Props to Scott Hall for noticing this comeek from PvP:

Update #2: So the presentation is finished and nothing other than the unfortunately named iPad was mentioned. No iTunes update, no i7 chipset, no Verizon iPhone. Just the iPad. At first blush it seems like just a large (9.7 inch display) iPhone. In fact, it runs on the iPhone OS (which means it will be about a minute before someone SSH’s into the thing and hacks it) and runs iPhone apps on it; however, it appears to be more on the order of a Mac netbook, with support for iWork business applications as well as email, contacts, and calendaring in a more easily read resolution. It also features a new app, iBooks that make books on screen appear like real books. Pricing is generally higher than from Amazon ($9.99 vs. $12.99-$14.99) for new releases and bestsellers, and magazines and newspapers will take advantage of the screen to display a mini newspaper page, something you cannot get on the current crop of e-readers.

Pricing is $499 for a 16GB, $599 for a 32GB and $699 for a 64GB. That’s without the 3G, just WiFi (in essence, it’s an iTouch and an iPhone on steroids). If you want the convenience of 3G, then you have to wait and extra month, shell out an extra $130 (making the price points $629, $729, and $829 respectively) AND you have to pay for either a 250MB data plan from AT&T ($14.99 per month) or an unlimited data plan for $29.99 per month. There is also an optional case/cover for it which can double as an iPad stand and a keyboard dock to type more easily. Here’s the updated Apple website with more information and a video.

As for the name…well, this video says it all:

Categories: Humor, Mac, Other, Tech
  1. SJH27
    January 27, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Wait, so you get your job to buy your tech toys? I am no Apple Fan (nor a hater), but I hecccccht you ODY.

    Let me know how it rolls for you. Jen, my wife, loves her iPhone so I anticipate that our next “computer” purchase may end up being the iSlate. I am pretty agnostic anymore (on the PC front) and don’t have a firm desire/care either way.

    • Ody
      January 27, 2010 at 11:57 am

      Of course. I get $2250 per year to spend on personal business related items. That was negotiated when I first signed my contract. It’s imperative that I stay on top of the trend. Plus, it’s fun to test out new technologies.

  2. jen
    January 27, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Legitimate business purpose! HA HA HA. I’m ratting you out to AKD!

    • Ody
      January 27, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      STFU. Lunch?

  3. PTZ
    January 27, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    I Can actually see the iSlate being practical in the medical sector. Instead of a computer in each examination room, doctors and nurses could carry it around. It might save on maintenance and equipment costs. I don’t how hygienic it would be though. However, you’d have to worry about doctors misplacing it and patients jackin’ it…maybe not so practical. Did they address how iSlate would print? Would it be able to connect to a wireless print server?

    Aren’t most clinics/hospitals using Windows-based programs? Would it be possible to have the iSlate interface as a wireless dumb terminal? If that were the case, any PC-based knockoff would suffice and would probably be cheaper. Of course S.I.A.B. would be even cheaper.

    • Ody
      January 28, 2010 at 9:32 am

      True but who would I send S.I.A.B. to? Steve Jobs? Gates? Ballmer? @amydesu?

  4. Erika
    January 27, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I still like Microsoft’s better.

    • Ody
      January 27, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      What Microsoft? They have a tablet?

  5. Scott Hall
    January 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I don’t know Ody, I have to say, I am a bit underwhelmed by this. Other than the text books, which is a great move to get the next Gen hooked in, not a lot going on. Too much hype maybe, which is saying a lot because I was not rabid about this to begin with.

    Maybe it is just too much of a natural growth pattern? For years we watched the auto industry introduce a nice small car and over the years it would grow larger and more luxurious. If Apple can nail down the cloud storage of iTunes for streaming, that will be a big boon for all. But for now, meh.

    The higher price for data connection puzzles me. No AT&T discount/incentive pricing? That is shades of iPhone V1. I thought Apple/AT&T decided that it is better to subsidize and flood the market.

    On a slightly related note, I hear that the iPad would be unlocked, but unless Apple loads in hardware/software to hit all the major player’s 3G networks, not really a big deal.

    RE: MS Tablet, Miss Erika may be referring to this: http://news.cnet.com/8301-13860_3-10442060-56.html?part=rss&subj=news&tag=2547-1_3-0-20

    Dropped on Cnet around 11:30 PST. Not sure how that jives with the iEvent.

  6. Ody
    January 27, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I think we are all making a mistake that this is the e-reader competition. I think it’s positioned to be the netbook competition. There are business apps on it and there are entertainment apps on it. You can do presentations from the unit and the price point is very nice. If I were still doing the amount of traveling I was doing a few years ago, I would look at this becuase it doubles as an entertainment and business device. I’m headed to Spain in March. I hope it comes out before I leave so I can try it out.

  7. Jim
    January 28, 2010 at 2:42 am

    OK, can I just say I’m disappointed you let Apple’s come-on-over-to-my-pad pre-empt the promised second part of your concert-going experiences. When you get your pad, use it to write about maybe the worst concerts you’ve been to – or the most expensive ($200 for Sade tix?).
    Anyway, thanks for the video and the laugh…uh…and the techie update.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

