Home > Family, Food > Comfort food from my dead grandmother

Comfort food from my dead grandmother

When I was growing up, my Grandmother used to make this dish a lot. It’s comfort food to me and I now make it to my kids for dinner often. I go back to this dish because not only because I like it, but also because it brings back the memories I have of my Grandmother, the smells from her kitchen and the sharing of recipes. I present it here for posterity’s sake. I love you and miss you Ooah.

Carne Picada

Carne Picada

Ooah’s Carne Picada

  • 6 roma tomatoes, diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic. chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2/3 cup pimento stuffed olives, sliced in half
  • 1 cup peas
  • optional ingredients – corn, garbanzo beans, mushrooms

Saute onion and garlic in the olive oil a sauce pan over medium heat until onion is translucent. Add tomatoes and stir in water. Stir mixture so that tomatoes are evenly distributed in pan. Add bay leaf. Reduce heat to low. Do not let dry out. add water as necessary.

*NOTE: Sometimes I add the salt, pepper and thyme to the sauce rather than to the ground beef. I also often finish up the sauce with a bit of olive oil.

In a separate pan, brown ground beef. Drain off excess fat. If you didn’t add the salt, pepper and thyme to the sauce, add it to the ground beef.

Once the tomatoes in the sauce have softened and you get the consistency of very liquidy pasta sauce (should be about 15 to 20 minutes on low), the mix is ready. The sauce should look more orange than red.

Take out the bay leaf. Combine the sauce with the ground beef and add the rest of the ingredients. Leave mixture on low to warm up all the additions.

Serve over rice. Serves four.

Categories: Family, Food
  1. Jim
    January 17, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks for the recipe, Ody. I make this a lot, too. (Yesterday, for example!) Bianca and the children love it, too. I had forgotten the bay leaf and the peas. Did your Mom and Ooah really put peas in it? We often put in a can of corn, too.
    Yum!

    • Ody
      January 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

      Ah, those are otions, modifications made by me. You should try adding your own veggies. No, wait, you’ll add something like Kohlrabi or something… 🙂 PS, your photos are AMAZING.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

