Home > Friends > Yes, these are my tweeps

Yes, these are my tweeps

Fail Whale

Fail Whale

A lot of people pooh pooh Twitter as a fad and I read somewhere that 90% of new users ditch after 1 month. I also know the number of spambots that try to follow you can be annoying. And yes, the Fail Whale is cute but after a while, THAT’S annoying too. But if you persist, you will find a diverse, beautiful population that rewards your persistence with true friendship.

I have to admit, I have some friends on Twitter that I am closer to that some friends in real life. I know more about their lives and they know more about mine. Perhaps it’s the fact that there is the knowledge that our sharing is entirely electronic. Friends are in Canada,  Hawaii, Dubai, Switzerland, Arizona, Washington State, Louisiana, Arkansas, Oklahoma etc. and the knowledge that they will never meet me or my friends or can be very liberating.

Moreover, I care about them, in a very real passion. We share secrets, thoughts, loves, and pictures. We build community 140 characters at a time. It’s the wild west out there but people are very much supportive of one another. So with that in mind, I want to make sure my tweeps know how much I care about them, how much I think of them, and how I wish all of them the best.

Categories: Friends
  1. Jackie
    January 11, 2010 at 12:05 am

    I can totally relate. The first time I heard about Twitter , I thought it was the stupidist idea. I thought why would anyone want to know what I was doing but it didn’t take long till twitter was part of my everyday. I have met the most incredible people on twitter.I have learned so many things. I love my Tweeps;)

  2. Ody
    January 12, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Thanks for the comment, Jackie. For whatever reason, it seems to me that people are more open with others. I’m sure there are sociologists studying why that is. Perhaps they can enlighten us. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

